Updates on Postpartum Depression Screenings

Over the past five months, I’ve discussed several articles explaining what postpartum depression exactly is, why its important, how prevalent it is in today’s society and debates addressing whether perinatal depression screening should become mandatory or not. To end this dispute, I want to update my audience on the latest news about postpartum depression and how my thought process has changed through this course.

longer-maternity-leave-ppd
Image from empowher

In earlier posts, I have discussed how insurances were considered the enemy and the ones who are feared within this topic because they charge their customers even more if they are considered “depressed”. According to an article from silive.com, the state of New York is requiring all insurers to cover postpartum depression screenings to their clients. This is a huge step toward change because like I stated in previous posts, mothers were reluctant to be screened because they were afraid they would lose money if they were diagnosed as being depressed. As stated in the article, insurers have up to six months to cover maternal screening costs and coverage or there will be major consequences toward their companies. I believe this is a huge step for mothers because now they will be more accepting to participate in the screening since now they know if they are pronounced depressed, they won’t have to worry about more costs as their insurance will cover it.

An article from Global News discusses an innocent women who found herself distressing from postpartum depression. This article stated all of her fears and one aspect that stood out to me is how “in one to two per cent of cases if left untreated, a mother can become psychotic”. This is important because mothers should never be afraid of their lives after having a baby, if anything, their feelings should be the total opposite. To me, its crazy to believe that some of these mothers are considered “psychotic” because of their several paranoia disorders about their baby. Coming into this topic, I had no idea what postpartum depression really was. I have never heard of it before and was never aware that these kinds of conditions truly existed. When I think of mothers after they give birth to their newborn babies, I think they’re happier than ever, finally relieved to see their new miracle and child and overjoyed that they are healthy. After reading all these articles on why postpartum depression is so prevalent, it really opened my eyes to what my life could be after I give birth later in life. I now know what precautions to take when thinking of having a baby and all the potential consequences that could happen if I don’t participate in the postpartum depression screening.

Lastly, I found an interesting article about an app that could survey postpartum depressed women. According to medicalxpress.com, the app “called PPD ACTTM, surveys women to identify those who have had symptoms of PPD”. The app was developed intended for more research, support, and awareness for those women who suffer from PPD. Creaters, University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Medicine researchers and the international Postpartum Depression: Action Towards Causes and Treatment (PACT) Consortium, developed this app in hope to finding new ways to prevent, study, and bring awareness to everyone, especially cautious mothers unwilling to participate in the screening.

Overall, it’s been a wonderful five months updating you all on postpartum depression and I hope you have enjoyed reading and learning about this topic as I have enjoyed writing and discussing with you.

Leave a Reply

